Color blocked and embroidered pillowcases.

IMG_2324

My mother had special pillowcases on her bed that my grandmother made. They were crisp white with pretty, colorful and delicate flowers embroidered on them. Growing up it was a special day when it was your turn, out of the eight, to take a map in mom’s bed. I would trace the lines of those stitches until my eyes were too heavy to keep open. A lack of matching pillowcases in my own closet, and this post on purl bee, inspired me to make my own.

IMG_2332

I definitely have enough fabric scraps to use up and some vintage fabric that I have been wanting to work into a project. Combining those things with stitches that echo my grandma’s embroidery, I created some very special-to-me matching pillowcases. For me personally it so so satisfying to make something both special, but also economical and so functional. The linen closet is stocked!

IMG_2310

I made two in each of the colors above. The girls quickly claimed the gray and vintage blue rose pillowcases for themselves. I have enough of that to even work into quilts for them (in a very long que of to-do projects). The embroidery was definitely the part that took the longest but this would be a great project without the embroidery. Or, if you wanted a hand sewing project, such a great way to personalize and embellish store bought pillowcases!

 

Leave a Reply

