Child dress in dark chambray.

IMG_2151

I was walking through a store swooning over the girls’ clothing. I exerted a large amount of restraint and self discipline and told myself to dig through my fabric stash and sew them something myself. While it is more time consuming and less convenient, the unused fabric feels like money just wasting away on shelf. It is so satisfying to make something so utilitarian for your family with your own two hands.

IMG_2164

I have less and less influence over what the girls wear these days. This is absolutely fine. I like seeing what they mix and match and come up with. Colors are getting more pink and purple, patterns more bold and bright. I was concerned that this wouldn’t be colorful enough for them and that it would spend all its days in the closet. When Elise saw it hanging completed her eyes got big and she exclaimed with a slow smile and quiet wonder “It’s beauuutiful!” She wanted to wear it immediately and didn’t want to take it off. (I did insist, after day two.) I am so grateful that they love wearing things I have sewn myself. I am very aware that might not last.

IMG_2282

The pattern is Simplicity 2677  size 8. I try to aim a little large in the sizing so there is room for growth and it will last more than one season. They sprout so fast, those wee ones. I love any sleeveless dress that can be worn alone or layered for the colder  months.

One thought on “Child dress in dark chambray.

Leave a Reply

